What is vegetarianism?
You have probably heard the word vegetarian many times at family parties or among your friends. But do you know the exact meaning of this word? Do you know what kind of diet people who are vegetarians have? Do you know the difference between vegetarianism and veganism? In the following, we will get all the answers to these questions.
By definition vegetarianism is the practice of abstaining from the consumption of meat (red meat, poultry, seafood, and the flesh of any other animal), and may also include abstention from by-products of animal slaughter. Veganism refers to a vegetarian diet in which any food derived from animals such as meat, eggs, dairy products, and all other foods that are processed using animal products, are not eaten. Some vegans do not even use leather, silk and woolen clothing.
Whether a vegetarian diet is good for your body or not depends entirely on the type of diet. If you have a complete vegetarian diet and get all the minerals, vitamins and proteins your body needs, you can claim that you do not need to eat meat and its by-products. That’s why including fruits and vegetables, nuts and supplements in a vegetarian diet is so important.
Vegetarianism is divided into 3 categories including following:
• Lacto vegetarian: These vegetarians avoid a variety of meats and eggs, but use dairy products such as milk, yogurt, cheese, etc.
• Ovo Vegetarian: This group of vegetarians do not eat meat like other vegetarian groups. In addition, this group does not consume dairy products, but they do not have problem with eating eggs in their diet.
• Lacto-ovo vegetarian: These vegetarians do not eat meat but consume dairy products and eggs. These vegetarians are the most common group of vegetarians who are limited to eating only meat.
Read more about Benefits of vegetarianism.